YOUTH FORMATION

A Sunday Formation Class; welcoming those currently in grades 6th to 12th
Sundays from 10:20-11:05a | September – May 19

In Youth Formation, we gather for 45 minutes to enjoy donuts and discussion. We've pondered questions like “Is God Male?”; “Did God write the Bible?”; and “What is the real meaning of Christmas?” Occasionally, we will join the Adult Formation when it features a special lecture series, and we always follow the curriculum of the wider church’s small groups when they occur. Registration is never required. Just come to the Youth Room on Sunday morning.

YOUTH GROUP

A Social/Fellowship Group; welcoming those currently in grades 6th to 12th
Most Sundays from 5-7p

Youth Group meets weekly on Sundays during the program year, typically from 5-7p. We usually spend three weeks each month at the church, and one at an offsite community-building trip like a Sox game or a hiking outing. Check out our info board outside of the youth room, subscribe to the SPR parish's weekly email blast, or follow us at @SPRYouth for updated scheduling info.

Click to View Volunteer Opportunities on SignUp.com

Each youth group begins with dinner, often made by parent volunteers. Are you a parent or an adult in the parish that wants to make the youth group dinner? Sign-up to the right.

SMALL GROUPS

We currently have a two small groups in the youth programming, the H.S. Small group and Girls Group.

SPR Girls Group | Meets periodically throughout the program year; the Girls Group was formed in 2017 when only 25% of the youth programming participants identified as female. (With our incoming 2018 class, we are now up to 40%. Ok, ladies now let's get in formation.)
Open to all young woman-identified young people, grades 6-12; RSVP to events required.

High School Small Group | Meets at Addie's house on Saturdays in the Fall.
Open to all high school youth, grades 9-12.

SUMMER MISSION TRIP

Check out out Mission Trip page for more on our summer mission trips. The tentative dates for our summer mission trip (open to those entering 7th-12th grade) is August 18-24, 2019.

If you'd like more info on youth programming, contact Addie Domske, Youth Leader: domske@sprchicago.org

YOUTH GROUP, FALL 2018

(Youth Group is from 5-7p and includes dinner unless otherwise noted.)

Sunday, September 9, 4-7p - Kick-Off Sunday/4th Annual Thrift Shop Formal

Sunday, September 16, 8a-12:15p - Youth Sunday (in AM, no youth group in evening)

Sunday, September 23, game starts at 1:10p - Sox/Cubs Game [Sign-up required.]

Sunday, September 30 - The Great Youth Group Bake-Off

Saturday, October 6 - Sunday, October 7, 5p-8a - Lock-in!!!

Sunday, October 14 - Intro to the Mystics feat. Julianne+ 

Sunday, October 21 - Instructed Eucharist feat. KJ+

Sunday, October 28 - Halloween Party (Pumpkin Carving Night)

Saturday, November 3, 2:30-5:30p - All Saints Day Prep Party

Sunday, November 4, 8:45a-1p (DST Today!) - All Saints Day Food Serving 

Sunday, November 11 - Fortnite Squad Party

Sunday, November 18 - Science! Night

Sunday, November 25 - NO YOUTH GROUP (Happy Thanksgiving!)

Sunday, December 2, 4:30-7:30p - ZooLights Outing

Sunday, December 9 - Sacred Harp feat. Christian Clough

Sunday, December 16 - White Elephant Gift Exchange Party

Sunday, December 23 - NO YOUTH GROUP (Happy Christmas!)

Sunday, December 30 - NO YOUTH GROUP (Happy Christmas!)

YOUTH GROUP, SPRING 2019

(Youth Group is from 5-7p and includes dinner unless otherwise noted.)

Sunday, January 6 - God @ the Movies Outing

Sunday, January 13 - Life Scaffolding feat. Monte

Saturday - Sunday, January 19-20 - MIQRA Weekend [Sign-up required.]

Sunday, January 27 - Jeopardy Night! feat. Andrew

Sunday, February 3, 5:30p-halftime - Super Bowl Party

Sunday, February 10 - BYOBG Night (Bring Your Own Board Game Night)

Saturday, Feb 16 - Sunday, Feb 17, 8a-12p - Winter Retreat (Wisconsin) [Sign-up required.]

Saturday, February 23, 4-8p - Parents (of Children and Youth Programming) Night Out! [Sign up in advance.]

Sunday, March 3 - God @ the Movies

Sunday, March 10 - God and Art: A Tour of the Art Institute with Addie

Sunday, March 17, 12:30-2p - Experience SPR: Open Kitchen with Fran Spaltro

Sunday, March 24 - GARP (George's Awesome Role-Play) or Pokemon Night!

Sunday, March 31, 12:30-4:30p - Adler Outing feat. Youth Group Astrophysicist Dan

Sunday, April 7 - Experience SPR: Food Pantry with Shirley Knight

Sunday, April 14 - God @ the Movies (maybe: Doc10 Festivals Outing) [RSVP in advance.]

Thursday, April 18, 5:30p - Maundy Thursday Service

Sunday, April 21 -  NO YOUTH GROUP (Happy Easter!)

Sunday, April 28 - Mission Trip-Themed Youth Group

Sunday, May 5, 3-6p - Mission Trip Fundraiser: Car Wash Fundraiser

Sunday, May 12 - NO YOUTH GROUP (Happy Mother's Day!)

Saturday, May 18, 9a-12p(ish) - Experience SPR: Food Garden Work

Saturday, May 25, 10a-6p - Starved Rock Hiking Trip (Indiana)

Saturday, June 1, 4-7p - Mission Trip Fundraiser: Wine and Cheese and Documentaries [RSVP in advance.]

Sunday, June 2, 5-7:30p - Fellowship Night and Senior Farewell at Dan and Addie's Apartment! [RSVP in advance.]

Summer Mission Trip | August 18-24, 2019